When did you become a St Johns fan?

• 90 replies

sju89tr

When did you become a St Johns fan?
« on: January 08, 2013, 10:28:11 AM »
Paultz provided a good point about Lou and Lapchick. I thought it might be a good idea to see when we started following the school.

I became hooked in 1981 when I was a freshman at Forest Hills High School and they would play St Johns games on TV every Saturday. It also coincided with Mullin's first year but I don't think I even thought about Mullin as a great player as I did not follow recruiting until after that.

boo3

Re: When did you become a St Johns fan?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 10:30:39 AM »
 My dad took me to a game in the early 80's. Georgetown vs St. John's.  Ewing vs Mullin.  Fight between Kevin Williams and Ewing.  I was hooked.

I remember being in the garden in 1986, as a 13 year old, watching St. john's beat Syracuse for the BE Championship. 

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2013, 10:35:37 AM »
A family friend played (sat the bench) for SJU and he always hooked us up with tickets. I started going when I was 7 or 8 but I don't remember much until Mullin's soph year when I was 10. Despite Mullin being on the team my favorite player was David Russell. I got hooked on the BE with the Saturday afternoon games on ch 9 when fighting was legal. The BE was like hockey back then.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 10:38:04 AM by we are sju »

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2013, 10:35:46 AM »
Started going to every game in '86.  Loved the Malik years.  By far the most fun watching all of that team mature.  Everything changed when they moved the long time season ticket holders to different seats at Alumni.  Took the fun out of going there.  Still go when in town but they really made a lot of people bitter. 

paultzman

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2013, 10:39:27 AM »
As a kid started going to SJU games and listening on radio during Seiden, Tony Jackson, Alfierii days. Haven't stopped!

sju89tr