Bars around Campus

• 34 replies

Tha Kid

Bars around Campus
« on: December 16, 2008, 10:20:16 AM »
Doesn't really apply to me anymore since I graduated, but I was really pissed Last Call went under and was bought out by VERIZON.  That spot had been a bar since my parents were at St. John's in the late 70s and probably before.  It was a hole in the wall, but it was actually the one fun thing a bunch of law kids did on thursday nights, and other nights I was there I remember frat/sorority mixers goin on. 

Galloping green I've been to but NEVER seen it have more than 5-10 people unless a party was organized.  Traditions was legit, love the beer pong upstairs, cheap beer too, but it's a little bit of a hike from school.

Sly Fox is legit for a drink for a law school student or working guy, but I didn't think it'd be that fun a place for college age kids.

Where do the undergrads go?
"I drink and I know things"

Re: Bars around Campus
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2008, 02:55:23 PM »
Last Call was Gantrys? I used to love JPOD's, was there the night Felipe commited-the DJ announced it and the place went nuts

Tha Kid

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2008, 03:19:58 PM »
Yeah Last Call was Gantry's....what's JPODs?

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2008, 03:24:57 PM »

JPODS was a big bar right down the street from Gantrys. on Union TPKE
« Last Edit: December 16, 2008, 03:25:15 PM by Marco Baldi »

pmg911

« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2008, 02:28:32 PM »

WOW..  JPOD's was a legendary St. John's bar. One of the former owners, Jimmy Prendegast was a St. Francis Prep hoops player and a good family friend.

Had many a beer there from 1987 until it closed.

Marillac

« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2008, 02:41:42 PM »