NJIT loses 35th straight

• 8 replies

Marillac

NJIT loses 35th straight
« on: November 18, 2008, 12:50:46 PM »
I don't understand streaks like this.  You know you suck.  You lost every game last year.  Why not schedule a D-2 team to break this streak.  Why not load your schedule with shitballs like Prarie View A n M. 

Re: NJIT loses 35th straight
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2008, 02:19:09 PM »
I graduated from Rutgers-Newark, right across the street from NJIT When I was there, our school set the all-time record for consecutive losses at I believe 47. The record was later broken by Rutgers-Camden, thus keeping it in the Rutgers family.
Our team had seven players (I was not one of them). As I recall, three of them were little guys from the Orient who were mainly pursuing an education. A group of Rutgers students who hung out in the pub used to get drunk, then go over to the gym and play basketball against the varsity - and demolish them. It is not that easy to schedule patsies.

Some 25 years later: I'm pretty sure all the guys on the Rutgers-Newark basketball team got their degrees. And it wouldn't surprise if the guys that used to beat them in the gym are still hanging out at the pub.

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2008, 03:39:29 PM »
I graduated from Rutgers-Newark, right across the street from NJIT When I was there, our school set the all-time record for consecutive losses at I believe 47. The record was later broken by Rutgers-Camden, thus keeping it in the Rutgers family.
Our team had seven players (I was not one of them). As I recall, three of them were little guys from the Orient who were mainly pursuing an education. A group of Rutgers students who hung out in the pub used to get drunk, then go over to the gym and play basketball against the varsity - and demolish them. It is not that easy to schedule patsies.