How much more attractive does last night's win make us to a new coach?

• 13 replies

Marillac

16 wins for the second year in a row--with a chance for 17 and five starters returning next year.  Obviously the coaching was God-awful, and everyone knows that.  A great coach has to feel that he can win 20-25 with this group next year.

DJ ups his averages in a HUGE way last night.  He went from 33.6% from three to 37% with four attempts per.  He pushed his rebounding and assists averages to over six and three per game, respectively. 

If I'm a coach like Donovan (dreaming here) that hasn't paid too much attention to STJ, I love that there are five seniors returning from a 16/17 win team and that a kid averaged 15.6 6.3 3.0 per contest and three kids over 37% from three with 4+ attempts per. 

To me this is the most frustrating part is that we could already be that 20 win team. We lost some god awful games this year. In no way should we have lost to either Rutgers or Providence those alone push us to 18 and between Cornell, Georgetown, Pitt, Louisville, and WVU we should have won at least 2 of those games which puts us at 20.
Follow Johnny Jungle on Twitter at @Johnny_Jungle

Poison

I don't think the issue here is a lack of talent.
Just a lack of awareness.

That said, a new coach will have a new group of kids
that will be his legacy.

Marillac

To me this is the most frustrating part is that we could already be that 20 win team. We lost some god awful games this year. In no way should we have lost to either Rutgers or Providence those alone push us to 18 and between Cornell, Georgetown, Pitt, Louisville, and WVU we should have won at least 2 of those games which puts us at 20.

We win Providence if Boothe was playing 30 mins. 

The three attractive aspects of the job now are:
1) the available scholarships for 2011
2) proximity to Manhattan (for entertainment) and the NY suburbs (family to live)
3) the Big East